Community Capacity Building through ICT in Mitume, Kenya

Partner: Mitume Community Development Project

Duration: February 2016 till September 2018

Donor: Foundation North-South-Bridges, Foundation Umverteilen and private donations

Many enthusiastic young people of our community applied for Leapfrog provided Computer training”, said Augustine Githua. He is the Coordinator of the Mitume Community Development Project, our local collaboration partner from Kitale in the northwest of Kenya. “There is no similar programme in the district and schools are poorly equipped with modern hardware”, Augustine added. Thanks to our donors and many private donations we have been able to provide access to digital media and free IT education for more than 300 young people in Mitume, where most of the families are poor.

The IT education programme was divided into 6 modules, including basic operating system functionality and standard office applications, as well as internet skills and entrepreneurship.

girls women IT

Each training unit concludes with an examination.

Listen to what motivated Raphael motivated to apply for the training:

Supporting Entrepreneurship

Jobs in the formal sector are rare in the region. However, there are many good ideas among participants on how to tackle problems in the community. Following techniques and procedures developed by Prof. Faltin (https://www.entrepreneurship.de), participants of the entrepreneurship module were supported in the development of their business ideas.

Students discussing business idea for the Mitume community

Strengthen self-confidence and supporting peaceful coexistence

Things don’t always go as planned and that’s a good thing: It was not on our project plan to have at the end of the project a very successful women soccer team playing in the Kenya Premiere League. The “Falcons” started as a group of female students playing soccer of the IT trainings. Congratulations!

Falcons women football team

“Effects of post election violence of 2007- 2008 also affected most of the people in our locality”, explained Augustine when we were planning the project. Prior to the post-election violence, youth from different communities and tribes lived together in peace. They could not see eye to eye in the aftermath of election violence since many of them were involved in running battles and property looting in their opponent’s communities. That’s why Leapfrog also promoted peace ambassadors and actors for change to spread the word of reconciliation and peaceful coexistence of the many tribes living in the cosmopolitan town of Kitale.

Stärkung der Mitume Gemeinde durch IT, Kenia

Partner: Mitume Community Development Project

Dauer: Februar 2016 bis September 2018

Geber: Stiftung Nord-Süd-Brücken, Stiftung Umverteilen und private Spenden

„Viele motivierte junge Leute aus unserer Gemeinde haben sich für eine Teilnahme an den Computerschulungen beworben, mehr als wir anfangs aufnehmen konnten“, sagt Augustine Githua. Er ist der Kordinator des Mitume Community Development Project, unserer lokalen Partnerorganisation aus Kitale, einer Großstadt im Nordwesten Kenias. Mehr als 300 junge Menschen aus Tuwan location, einem der ärmsten Stadtteile in Kitale, haben über einen Leapfrog Kurs Computerkenntnisse erworben. „Es gibt im Distrikt kein vergleichbares Angebot an Computerkursen und Schulen sind meist mit IT sehr schlecht ausgestattet“, führt Augustine aus.

Das IT Bildungsprogramm setzte sich aus 6 Modulen zusammen und umfasste Grundlagen von Betriebssystemen, Standard Office Anwendungen, Internetrecherche und Entrepreneurship.

Studenten lernen Stadnard Office Anwednungen

Jede Trainingseinheit wurde mit einem Test abgeschlossen.

Hört was Raphael, einer unserer Teilnehmer, motiviert hat, sich für das IT Training zu bewerben:

Unterstützung von Entrepreneurship

Jobs im formellen Sektor sind in der Region rar, wie in vielen anderen Gegenden Afrikas auch. Den engagierten Teilnehmern mangelt es jedoch nicht an guten Ideen, wie Probleme in der Gemeinde mit einer Businessidee angegangen werden können. Den Techniken und Verfahren Prof. Faltins folgend (https://www.entrepreneurship.de/about/) unterstützte Leapfrog die Entwicklung von Businessideen in der Gemeinde.

Studenten diskutieren wie Probleme in der Gemeinde angegangen werden können

Stärkung des Selbstvertrauens und Unterstützung friedlichen Zusammenlebens

Dinge laufen oft nicht wie geplant und das ist auch gut so: so war es in unserem Projektplan nicht vorgesehen, dass am Ende eine erfolgreiche Damen-Fußballmannschaft in Kitale das Selbstbewusstsein junger Frauen stärkt. Die „Falcons“ begannen als Freizeit-Fußballmannschaft, die sich nach den IT Trainings traf. Nun spielen sie in der Ersten Liga in Kenia. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

Die „Falcons“ spielen in der Ersten Damenliga in Kenia

„Auswirkungen der sog. Post Election Violence von 2007/2008 haben auch viele Leute in unserer Gemeinde getroffen“, erklärt uns Augustine als wir das Projekt konzipierten. Zuvor lebten Jugendliche verschiedener Ethnien in der multiethnischen Stadt Kitale friedlich miteinander. Nach dem Gewaltausbruch konnten sich viele Menschen nicht mehr in die Augen schauen, viele waren in Auseinandersetzungen, Übergriffe und Plünderungen involviert. Daher unterstützte Leapfrog auch die Arbeit von Friedensbotschaftern und Actors for Change, die sich für eine Aussöhnung und ein friedliches Miteinander in Kitale einsetzen.